News‎ > ‎

2014 Australian Championship

posted Jan 11, 2014, 8:59 PM by N Y Wong   [ updated Jan 11, 2014, 9:01 PM ]
In a tense final round, IM Max Illingworth (New South Wales) defeated FM Anton Smirnov (New South Wales) to clinch the title of 2014 Australian Champion by half a point from IM Moulthun Ly (Queensland), GM Hoang Thong Tu (Vietnam) and Karl Zelesco (Victoria). Five players shared the 5th spot on 7 points: IM Bobby Cheng (Victoria), GM Vasily Papin (Russia), FM Anton Smirnov (New South Wales), IM Igor Goldenberg (Victoria) and Eugene Schön (Victoria).

Full results here